Smile

smiling2

The obvious facial expression, everyone talks about it (and now me too), but very few people know how to take advantage of this simple and rather pleasurable concept of showing contentment, joy, friendliness, sympathy, pleasantness etc.

We can distinct really two types of smiles, a truthful one and the whole range of “fake” smiles. The problem with those so called “fake” smiles is that some of them are made to deceive, or to mask up other emotion (like fear, anger, contempt or disgust) but the word fake make a bad PR for the rest of smiles that are just polite, gestures of good will, made with good intentions attached like a thumb pointed up.

As the picture shows a true smile of joy is conveyed with eyes, to be precise – muscles around the eyes. In fake smile those muscles express the “base” emotion felt at this particular moment. Only 10% of population have conscious control over those muscles – we are used to call them a natural actors. The true smile lift our cheeks, and so the lower eyelid closes a bit (like in a very good expressed polite smile) but the magic begins with the upper one. It closes a little bit in move that no one (apart of those 10%) can fake – it is so symmetrical and beautiful, I could watch the true smiles all days long :D. So even if you try and mask a joyful smile it will still be shown by those muscles around your eyes. And please, never mask a true smile – it is the most awesome expression, show it off!

For the fake smiles (at least some of them) – gestures of smile. Take my word on this one and put them into a good, frequent use. It will create half of your halo effect right of the bat. You could be in worst shape, with spots on your shirt or whatever – with smile on your face you appear at least friendly. Everyone can pull so much more off while smiling than while trying to look “deep” or “tough”.

It sounds awfully obviously even while I’m writing it, but let me tell you: a well expressed “gesture of smile” completes every image, especially those images that may be not always associated with smile – like when one tries to appear powerful. Power with smile feels secure and our limbic brains respond to that.

Ok. I hope that you will smile more often from now on – it isn’t very easy, I admit, to always remember about it, but it is worth it. Take care until next time!

– Przemek Kucia

P.S. Underneath you can hear about much more data about smiling in great talk made by Ron Gutman. If you want to know more about facial expressions I highly recommend you taking a look on Paul Ekman works.

And please, tell me how do you like the new header of Charisma Workshop :D? Or maybe you have some thoughts on smiling? I’m all ears.

11 thoughts on “Smile

  1. stressingoutstudent says:

    Studies have shown that just the act of smiling can make you happy. However, fake smiles can have the opposite effect because a fake smile uses different muscles, triggering different chemicals (or whatever the biological terms are). Great post!

    • Przemek Kucia says:

      Yup, fake smile can use almost every muscle placed in our face, when the true one uses just one 😉 And I’m sorry but I don’t know how it is called in English 😉

      Thanks, I know it’s a bit redundant to speak of smile so often, but if there’s one image creation must have – it is a well expressed smile 😉

    • Przemek Kucia says:

      Thank you! 😀 After great example of Richard Branson I’m almost 100% sure that smile is what makes the difference between talented marketer and successful business guru 🙂

      • OneWomanEmpire says:

        A few Months ago, when I was working for Meetup, I learned about a certain type of spiritual meditation/yoga called Laughter Yoga. It’s been a round for a while, but I just never heard of this. The Videos looked funny and a little creepy, but this actually exists and apparently has an insanely positive effect on the participants! Youtube Laughter yoga if you want to see how it looks like- I am sure you are going to start laughing too! haha

        • Przemek Kucia says:

          As I must to admit that I’m not the biggest fan of spirituality in sense of meta-physical “force”/something beyond material reality effectively affecting it (it’s really not a concept to describe in simple, short comment ;)) and I may have some preprogrammed and plainly wrong presumptions about Yoga, self-help or related – all that being said xD I do know that truthful laughter can be a mood changer itself (as Stressing Out Student cared enough to point out in comment little bit higher – many thanks to her :D). Long story short (xD) – I will definitely look into it! 😀

          As always – thanks for the support! Well placed and kind pat on the back is always appreciated, especially for such an extrovert as I am 🙂

          • OneWomanEmpire says:

            Omg, me neither…I don’t see myself ever being a Yoga and spiritual guru LOL I was never into that stuff… LOL But, i guess it works for some and others like us, not so much! Keep up the great posts =)

  2. tracycembor says:

    Are you all ears or are you smiling from ear to ear?

    I think I smiled the entire time I watched this video, and it is so true what they say about kids. My daughter smiles all the time, and I find that all sorts of people are drawn to her. It is tough to be grumpy around her when she is so happy.

    • Przemek Kucia says:

      I’m all ears to listen to thoughts of other people 😀 Especially constructive critique 🙂

      I think I know what you’re saying about, every time I see smiling child my iced up heart just melts… Especially when my little brother is smiling – there is no greater mood uplift 😀

Leave a Reply

